2015 Meetings

    Programming for the Division of Biochemical Technology (BIOT)
    249th ACS National Meeting
    Denver Colorado, March 22-26, 2015


    Program ChairsLogo Page.jpg

    Matthew Lazzara, University of Pennsylvania 
    Anne Kantardjieff, Alexion Pharmaceuticals


    ACS 2015 Meeting Links

    Call for Abstracts - Is Now Closed!
    Registration - Is Now Closed!
    BIOT Meeting Location: Grand Hyatt Hotel, Denver
    ACS Accommodations Page
    Hotel Locations Map

    View the 2015 BIOT Program online
    2015 BIOT Meeting Program Grid
    2015 BIOT Program Book
    2015 BIOT Meeting Abstracts


    For Student Presenters

    W.H. Peterson Award for best oral presentation and best poster presentation - applications due February 28
    BIOT Student Travel Subsidy - applications due February 28


    2015 Program Areas (Area Coordinators)

    Upstream Processes (Trent Munro, Brian Pfleger)
    Downstream Processes (Scott Tobler, Alois Jungbauer, Richard Willson)
    Biomolecular & Biophysical Processes (Bryan Berger, Casim Sarkar, Parag Kohle)
    Biofuels and Sustainable Energy (Danielle Tullman-Ercek, David Hogsett)
    Quality by Design for Biopharmaceuticals (Sanjeev Ahuja, Anurag Rathore)
    Emerging Technologies (April Kloxin, Basar Bilgicer)
    Biosimilars and Follow-on Biologics (Lisa Connell-Crowley, Suresh Vunnum)
    Colorado Biotechnology (Nanette Boyle, Carrie Eckert)
    Poster Session (Claire Komives, Jacob Latone)


    2015 Keynote Speakers by Area

    Biofuels and Sustainable Energy - Ryan Gill, University of Colorado Boulder
    Biomolecular and Biophysical Processes - K. Dane Wittrup, MIT
    Biosimilars and Follow-on Biologics - Marjorie Shapiro, United States Food and Drug
    Administration & Anurag Rathore, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi
    Downstream Processes - Jorg Thommes, Biogen Idec
    Emerging Technologies - Kristi Anseth, University of Colorado Boulder
    Quality by Design for Biopharmaceuticals - Mathieu Streefland, Wageningen University
    Upstream Processes - Kelvin Lee, University of Delaware



    2015 Award Winners and Lectures

    The David Perlman Memorial Lectureship
    Anne Robinson, Tulane University
    “Overcoming Obstacles to Expression and Characterization of Difficult Proteins”


    Alan S. Michaels Award in the Recovery of Biological Products
    Milton Hearn, Monash University
    “Transforming Basic Science into Innovations in Bioproduct Recovery”


    The Marvin J. Johnson Award in Microbial and Biochemical Technology
    Mike Betenbaugh, Johns Hopkins University
    “Mammalian Cell Factories: Taking Small Steps Forward To Keep From Drowning in Big Data”


    Gaden Award Lecture
    Frances H. Arnold, California Institute of Technology
    "Sex and the Better Biocatalyst"


    BIOT Young Investigator Award
    Pete Tessier, RPI
    “Toward Antibodies by Design”


    D.I.C. Daniel Wang Young Investigator Award
    Maciek R. Antoniewicz, University of Delaware
    "Towards a Holistic Understanding of Cellular Metabolism"


    The James M. Van Lanen Distinguished Service Award
    David Roush, Merck W.H.


    Peterson Best Student Oral Presentation at 2014 National Meeting
    Nick Marchand, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
    “Synthetic Communication and Density-Dependent Gene Regulation in Bacillus Megaterium”


    W.H. Peterson Best Student Poster Presentation at 2014 National Meeting
    Krunal Mehta, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
    “Enzyme-Based Target Decontamination of Bacillus Cells and Spores”

    BIOT Links

    BIOT History
    BIOT Awards History
    BIOT Division Site