2020 Meetings

    Programming for the Division of Biochemical Technology (BIOT)
    260th ACS National Meeting
    Meeting Rescheduled August 16-20 in SF.


    BIOT Division programming that was slated for the ACS Spring National meeting, which was canceled, has been moved to the ACS Fall National meeting in San Francisco (August 16-20). Presenters whose abstracts were previously accepted for the Spring meeting should resubmit their abstracts to the same session. New submissions are invited for the poster session and for an exciting new oral session dedicated to discovery, development, and manufacturing of diagnostics and therapeutics to address COVID-19 (Rapid Response to COVID-19).


    Program Chairs

    Mark Blenner - Clemson University
    Venkatesh Natarajan - Amgen


    ACS 2020 Meeting Links

    BIOT Call for Abstracts 

    Submit an Abstract (Open to Spring Presenters, New Posters, COVID-19 Response Talks)

    BIOT Meeting Program Book (pdf)

    Directly navigate the BIOT Program here.

    BIOT Meeting Abstracts (pdf)

    BIOT Program Grid (pdf)

    Networking Session Registration - Panelists (Academic/Industry) and Students 



    BIOT Meeting Location:



    Reserve your hotel room on the ACS Website.


    For Student Presenters

    W.H. Peterson Award - Closed on 02/07/2020
    BIOT Student Travel Subsidy - Closed on 01/31/2020


    For Young (35 and Under) Professional

    Young Professionals Award in Upstream and Downstream Processing (sponsored by 3M)

    Applications due 3/01/2020


    2020 Keynote Speakers by Area

    Upstream Processes: Maciek Antoniewicz (Michigan)
    Downstream Processes: Hanne Bak (Regeneron)
    Biomolecular Technologies: Lori Burton (BMS)
    Biomedical Technologies: Krish Roy (Georgia Tech)
    End-to-End Biomanufacturing: Susan Abu Absi (Bluebird) 
    BIOT Interfaces: Deb Marks (Harvard); Shohei Koide (NYU)


     2020 Invited Speakers by Area

    Upstream Processes:  Gregg Nyberg (Merck); Amanda Lewis (BMS)
    Downstream Processes: Ashley Hesslein (Bayer); Giorgio Carta (Virginia)
    Biomolecular Technologies: Millicent Sullivan (Delaware); Ben Hackel (Minnesota)
    Biomedical Technologies: Andrew Raneimier (Sangramo); Pamela Silver (Harvard)
    End-to-End Biomanufacturing: Sarah Harcum (Clemson); Weichang Zhou (WuXi); Hari Pujar (Spark); Gwen Binder (Calbeletta Bio) 
    BIOT Interfaces: Samira Azarin (Minnesota); Jennifer Maynard (Texas);  Jordi Mata-Fink (Flagship Pioneering); John Warner (Warner Babcock Institute)


    2020 Award Winners and Lectures

    David Perlman Memorial Lectureship (sponsored by Bristol-Myers Squibb)
    David Liu (Harvard University)


    Marvin J. Johnson Award in Microbial and Biochemical Technology (sponsored by Pfizer, Inc.)
    Jim Swartz (Stanford University)


    EV Murphree Award
    Not Awarded in 2020.


    Alan Michaels Award
    Not Awarded in 2020.


    Industrial Biotechnology Award
    AstraZeneca Lumoxiti Process CMC Team.


    BIOT Young Investigator Award (sponsored by Genentech, Inc.)
    Lydia Contreras (University of Texas at Austin)


    James M. Van Lanen Distinguished Service Award 
    Not Awarded in 2020.


    Biotechnology & Bioengineering Gaden Award Lecture 
    Michael Betenbaugh (Johns Hopkins University)


    Biotechnology & Bioengineering D.I.C. Daniel Wang Young Investigator Award 
    Peng Xu (UMBC)


    SBE/AIChE/ACS BIOT D.I.C. Daniel Wang Award
    Konstantin Konstantinov (Codiak Biosciences)


    3M Young Professional Award in Upstream and Downstream Processing
    Erick Gutierrez (UMBC)


    W.H. Peterson Best Student Oral Presentation at 2019 National Meeting
    Evan Day (University of Virginia)


    W.H. Peterson Best Student Poster Presentation at 2019 National Meeting
    Ammar Ariswala (Georgia Tech)



    2020 Program Areas (Area Coordinators)

    Upstream Processes: Nitya Jacob (Amgen), Michelle O'Malley (UCSB), Kevin Solomon (Purdue)
    Downstream Processes: Aaron Noyes (Codiak), John Pieracci (Biogen), Jennifer Pollard (Merck)
    Biomolecular Technologies: Mary Krause (BMS), Greg Thurber (Michigan)
    Biomedical Technologies: John Kim (Alabama), Jonathan Royce (Vironova), Nooshie Sanaie (Kite Pharma)
    End-to-End Biomanufacturing: Caryn Heldt (Michigan Tech), Henry Lin (Merck), Bruno Marques (GSK)
    BIOT Interfaces: Ben Hackel (Minnesota), David Roush (Merck), Danielle Tullman-Ercek (Northwestern)
    BIOT Tank: Nigel Reuel (Iowa St.), Varnika Roy (GSK), Ganesh Sriram (Maryland)
    BIOT Poster Session: Tom Mansell (Iowa St.), Krunal Mehta (Amgen)
    BIOT Rapid Fires: Nanette Boyle (Colorado School of Mines), Chris Gillespie (Merck)


    BIOT Links

    BIOT History
    BIOT Awards History
    BIOT Division Site